Adult Paranormal Romance

image

My love of of all things paranormal started with Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice. I loved the movie. I absolutely adored the book. At the time of reading IWTV though, I was only 15 years old and such a story was as scary as much as it was fascinating. Reading about vampires biting and sucking their victims blood frightened me so much I used to think vampires were going to come and ‘get me’ as I was sleeping. Although now, it’s not about being scared of vampires, more so being aroused by vampires.

So starts my love of Adult Paranormal Romance books, any paranormal creature/monster gets me going. Vampires, Demons, Fae, Angels, Devils, you name a paranormal creature and I’ll most likely fall in love with them.

I started my adult PNR adventure with a series by Bella Forrest called A Shade of Vampire. I was in awe reading this, I’d never read anything like this before. I then fell in love, with a Vampire. Derek Novak, le sigh…. He became my first vampire book boyfriend. Until other paranormal book boyfriends came along.

To name a few,

Eden Resse, Caleb Dehain, Kane Malloy and Jask Tao of the Blackthorn series by Lindsay J. Pryor. Rhage, Vishous, Wrath and Zsadist of the BDB series by J.R Ward. Knox Thorne of the Dark in You series by Suzanne Wright. There’s more but I think I’d never stop writing if I name them all.

I’d go as far as to say adult paranormal romance is my favourite genre. I think it’s the escapism. The other world. Far from reality as life can get. Obviously the author has to make me believe in the story for this to happen and for the most part they do.

There are some cracking PNR books and book series out there, I have a favourite series, The Blackthorn series by Lindsay J. Pryor is by far my favourite. It’s dark paranormal romance. It’s essence reminds me of the film, The Crow. It has that feel to it, that depravity and darkness but with a twist of love and hope.

image

I love books that surprise me, that keep me on the edge of my seat and while there are non paranormal books out there obviously, they don’t quite do it for me as much as PNR.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

