The Last Vampire – Whitley Strieber



The Last Vampire was first published in 2001, the year I left school, although I didn’t hear of it until much later. I myself came across it in the local council mobile library. (I love this library, it’s literally just me and my mum that use it, so it’s like our own library) 

I read it before my love of all things PNR. You can’t really call this a PNR anyway more Paranormal Erotica, if that. Anyway I fell in love with it. To me TLV was dark and dangerous. The ultimate sin. 

I’ve since come to realise this book is pretty tame compared to some books I’ve read of this same genre, however TLV remains the it book for me. Maybe because of the library, maybe because it reminds me of a more naive time in my life. I don’t know. I just know it’s one of those books that I remember. 

According to some, it’s considered blogging suicide to write the blurb in a review, since I’m not writing a review, just blogging about a book I’ve enjoyed I’m going to include it so that you get the gist,

She lives. 

Miriam Blaylock’s insatiable hunger has never ceased. Her incomparable beauty has made her a legend among the Keepers. Her many lovers have come and gone, crumbling into ash and nothingness. She knows the secrets of civilization, and the mysteries of life. In the hollow soul of her mother she has witnessed the agony of undeath. 

For centuries she has gained the wisdom of God and the wit of the Devil. For centuries she has traveled the world undetected. For centuries she has felt safe. Until now. 

For Miriam Blaylock, immortality is a thing of the past. 

He watches. 

Vampires. Interpol agent Paul Ward knows of them: he has battled and cleansed continents of their exquisite poison. He orchestrated the extermination of an ancient lair in Bangkok, obtained their sacred Book of Names, and knows where they hide and when they feast. He knows their weaknesses. And what’s more, he knows his own…it’s Miriam Blaylock. Elusive and toxic, she has escaped his complex network of hunters for years. Seductive and cunning, she has become his obsession

And now each has set a trap for the other

Now, predator is about to become prey. Killer to become lover. Good and evil will become inexorably entwined. The endgame begins for the last vampire.

The eternal heroine of Whitley Strieber’s classic novel The Hunger, Miriam Blaylock returns in The Last Vampire — a new tale of stunning invention and mounting suspense that goes as deep into the dark as a nightmare.

Ok, so I have to admit that I haven’t read the first book to this series and I can’t say that I’m all inclined to do so. I think it would taint my view of The Last Vampire. 

I loved the depravity and sexiness of it and even though it wasn’t the best, I think it has shaped the way I look at vampire books today and dammit how I compare vampire books. If I read a new one and don’t get that initial feeling I did when I was younger, it seems to take the magic out of it. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

