Waking Olivia by Elizabeth O’Roark


5 Fabulous Stars *****

His father’s debt, a failing farm and a floundering track team. College coach Will Langstrom already has too many responsibilities, and the last thing he needs is Olivia, a beautiful new addition to his team with a bad attitude and a troubled past. 

Abandoned and broken, Olivia trusts no one — especially not the cocky track coach the rest of the team adores. But when her past is revealed to Will, she discovers another side to him — one she could grow to love. Forced together by a secret no one else can know – and breaking university rules to do it – Will and Olivia’s connection deepens. As does an attraction that could cost them everything.

Thanks go to NetGalley for introducing me to this book. I have to admit that I’d never heard of this author before but after reading Waking Olivia, I’ll definitely be reading more from Ms O’Roark.

What a book! I do quite like sports romances but they have to have what I like to call a ‘thick filling.’ What I mean by that is you know sometimes when you buy a pie (any kind, apple, rhubarb, chocolate etc) and you end up with a filling so thick, you’re like ‘wow, so this is what heaven feels like.’ That’s what I mean by ‘thick filling.’ Now some sports books are the generic ‘jock meets shy nerd’ and some books are Waking Olivia

This wasn’t your typical sports romance in that it involved teacher and student. A taboo subject and for obvious reasons, frowned upon. This story however was tastefully done and set in a collegiate environment. 

I loved it. Loved, loved, loved it. 

I adored the chemistry between Will and Olivia, the feisty confrontations and the sexual tension. The taboo subject of teacher and student. It all worked. 

However the thing that made me love it more was the undercurrent storyline. The way that both the main characters looked confident on the outside but inside there was nothing but turmoil and self doubt. I love how books such as these make me feel. Like I’m going through the same emotional hell or elation as the characters.

Even the background characters were brilliant. It all had the ‘thick filling.’

I will most definitely be reading other titles by this author and I irge fans of contemporary romance to do the same.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

