Age of Blood series by May Sage

WORDLESS…….

The world belongs to vampires now, and twenty-one-year-old small town girl Fay Turner thought it meant that every human like her was destined to be a slave or a servant. 

Then, William, an ancient vampire, came and set her free. 

Enrolled in the prestigious New York Academy, alongside humans and vampires alike, she learns that she wasn’t one amongst many; she was a victim. Never again. Her goal: becoming kick-ass. Then, maybe she’d somehow manage to tell the man who saved her everything she needs to say.

Developing an infatuation while solving a crime linked to an influential patriarch – and earning plenty of enemies in the process – is probably not a great idea; it doesn’t stop William. He just can’t help himself, wherever he goes, Fay is foremost in his mind, consuming him until he knows he has to have her. 

4 stars ****

This is the first in the Age of Blood series. It has been sitting on my Kindle shelf for a couple of weeks now and I gotta admit I was pretty reluctant to read it. Don’t ask me why because the cover is beautiful and the blurb was really intriguing, and I love vampire books. I mean why else would I download it right? 

So yesterday, I finally decided to pick it up and start reading and I have to say I was hooked. The story drew me in from the first word. 

It had hot vamps, drama, action, sex, depravity, I mean the whole shebang. I got to refer to my ‘thick filling’ reference a few blogs back for this. It definitely had that. Although the book as a whole is quite short and can be read in a day. 

My only criticism would have been how easy things have fallen into place. It seemed to go from A to B pretty quickly and could have had a little more build up and tension. That’s the only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5.

I do enjoy books that are down to earth. The author has got this down to a tee and I very much look forward to the next in the series. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Although this book is part of a series, this book can be read as a standalone with no cliffhanger. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WORTHLESS……


4.5 stars****

Wow, this series just keeps getting better and better and I really enjoyed this sequel.

Enslaved at Vincent’s for five years, Cece has absolutely no sense of self worth left by the time the Knights unexpectedly get her out. She drifts further into depression until a stranger sees through her shields and forces her to recover. 

Michael never thought he might find a consort, or a girlfriend, for that matter. Vampire politics involve games; the only women who can stand it are those who have been groomed for it. It’s a matter of tradition and as King of the American Coven, he cannot escape it. 
The problem? He has no interest in any of the Aspirants.

Comes Cece, a human, who has unknowingly been trained to become a vampire Lord’s mate for five years. She’s absolutely perfect for him. 

If only she could believe in herself…

Even though this is a vampire novel and focuses on paranormal things, the underlying storyline is one of abuse and how a person can come back from being abused. I really like stories that even though aren’t real, they touch on real issues. 

Cecilia’s abuse at the hands of the vampire Vincent was horrific and to come back from that is brilliant, well, it also helps if you have the King of Vamps backing you too. 

As is usual with these types of stories though victim usually always falls for the rescuer, in this case it’s the rescuers brother. 

I also loved the action storyline too, the fight that’s going to happen, the possibility of war, it always brings out the tension. I love it. 

Cannot wait to get stuck into the third book in the series.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

