Letting Go by Kate L Mary

Some people like a little chaos. Not Sarah. Growing up in a house of humiliating filth means she has three crystal-clear goals:
1. Get through college, however she can.

2. Keep her three-year-old sister away from her mom’s hoarding.

3. Never, never let disorder take over her life.

Of course, studying, working, and taking care of a toddler mean Sarah has no time for fun. Until she meets Zac.

He’s sweet, he’s funny, they have compatible plans for the zombie apocalypse. But Sarah can’t let him in. It’s not just his three drooly, sloppy dogs—with him in her life, the pristine future she’s working for would be shredded before you can say Down, boy!

                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3 stars ***

After reading Letting Go, I find myself in a quandary. On one hand I enjoyed it but on another I couldn’t really get into it.

I will be honest and say that it did take a while for me to get into the story but I think that’s more to do with the distractions of everyday life than that of the book. 

The storyline had good premise, they were very real issues addressed and I loved that it was a very realistic analogy of mental health issues. I also liked that it was dealt with tactfully. Mental health stories can sometimes feel like the author just winged it but in this case, research seemed to have been used.

I liked Sarah’s character, she was down to earth, the worries she had were very real worries that can apply into day to day lives, for example, her financial situation. I liked that she cared for her sister when her mother let her down. I liked Will, the fact that he’s a dog lover was ‘thumbs up.’ 

There were some things that didn’t excite me. The chemistry between Zac and Sarah seemed lacklustre, the sexual tension didn’t excite me and the fact that they seemed to fall in love pretty much instantly didn’t seem right to me, that is probably more to do with the fact that I don’t believe in love at first sight and not to do with the story. 

Overall it was a pleasant read and I’ll check out more titles by this author.

Happy Reading 🙂

I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.


Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

