Beauty Sleeping by Farha Hasan

I saw this book on NetGalley and it the cover looked so pretty that it intrigued me enough to read the blurb.

Safia and Aiden’s lives are on an undeniable and inevitable course. Like hamsters on a wheel, they toil through their days and well into the nights, working more hours than anyone should. 
Safia is an advertising executive at one of New York’s most prestigious firms while Aiden is one of the Wall Street guys. Two people. Two separate lives. Both working to drown their heartaches.

What neither realizes is that the loneliness and mundane nature of each day is about to change. Destiny and fate are real and not just fairytale ideals. But love is a mystery and watching over both of them is a beauty who sleeps but sees all.

In a nearby hospital lies this beautiful girl who has slept for many months in a coma. Quiet and unassuming, yet she is the unlikely instrument that will bring Safia and Aiden together. This beauty sleeping touches everyone who passes by her room, and even those like Aiden and Safia who don’t. Although neither knows it, this Beauty has a supernatural hold over them. 

She will seal their fate and bring them together…but if fate is tempted, her power may also keep them apart.
The blurb in itself intrigued me so I requested a gift copy of it. I have to admit I really struggled with it. The reason for this is because it was written in the third person but a narration of a third person if that makes sense. 

Trying not to spoiler but I’m going to have to give a little away to explain my meaning. Laila is in a coma and she’s the one who is narrating the book. Her narration is what’s going on at the time she is experiencing it. It’s quite confusing when I’m used to reading the third person as things that have happened or are going to happen in the future. 

In any case it took me a while to get into it and I’m still not sure if I fully understand it, however it was a sweet magical modern day fairytale in the sense that the main characters get their HEA. 

I enjoyed the attention to detail and the characterisation. I enjoyed the teeny eerie element to it and the similarity to Sleeping Beauty. In this case the beauty being the beauty in the coma.

I’m not going to say I loved it because I didn’t but I also didn’t hate it. The author is very talented and I will definitely watch out for other novels by her in the future.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

