Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs


5 Peculiar Stars *****

Can I just start by saying I haven’t seen the film. There’s a lot of rave reviews about it in movie land but before I saw it I wanted to experience the book. I prefer to read these ‘major motion pictures’ before the become ‘major motion pictures.’

What I read was a mix of scary, fun, magical, bewilderment, joy, bravery, and of course Peculiar children.

It was fantastic. It’s left me wanting a whole lot more which is why I bought the sequel to it, however I’m going to wait a little to digest this one before commencing reading the next.

I loved the whole concept of this book, the imagination of the author is brilliant. From the detail written I could totally imagine myself being there. Encountering what Jacob encounters along the way and being scared at the ‘monsters.’ It all worked for me.

It’s going to stay with me for a while.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

