The Spirit: A novel of the Tribe by Harper L Jameson

Before the white man settled the Appalachians, he stood over the people of the Tribe, providing all they needed to flourish in the shadow of the mountains.
The many tribes have given him many different names. Wakan Tanko. Maheo. To the people that first hunted the corner of Appalachia known to later generations as Wright’s Holler, he was Weshemoneto, the Great Spirit.

To Anna Madeline Wright, he would simply be Wes.

Born in the holler that bore her name, “Annie” Wright came from people that had learned to live on the land, people who believed in the magic saturating the woods around them. People who knew how to survive.

Circumstance of birth gave her power. Her skills gave her respect. Her magic gave them hope. In a town not yet influenced by the progress of the industrial revolution, Annie was a pauwau. A witch.

The winter of 1836 hit the town of McAllen hard and with her people in danger of annihilation, Annie called on the spirits for the power to save them. Her desperation called Weshemoneto himself . When they collided, she had to make a choice: Lose her town or lose her heart.

What happened next would become the stuff of legend for centuries to come.

4.5 stars ****

What a book!! I was recommended this book by a friend and I have to say that I’m very happy she did. 

It is somewhat PNR in the sense that it’s animal shifters but it’s more spiritual than actual shape shifting. 

This isn’t my typical book, I’ve never read anything involving Indians and their spirit guides and although this is fiction, it is still very much believable which I do really enjoy. It’s also written in a way that reads traditional whilst still conforming to modern day English, for example, the feel is that of the 1800’s but written in a modern way. This also pleased me. 

I love not just the love storyline but the whole thing, I loved the way the whole white man vs ‘injun was written, the whole white man killing Indians because they were believed to be savages, the way that not all white man were against them and tried to protect many in the war that was to come. 

Yes the whole story was based on a love between Wes and Annie, but that wasn’t what sold it for me, it was the love between man and man, between woman and woman and between man and woman. It was the fact that it wasn’t about colour and it wasn’t about prejudice, it was about the fact that when called to fight, no man/woman is superior and no man or woman need die senselessly. 

I loved the romance and the love between Wes and Annie. It was written in a way that was so believable that I could feel it. I could see the spirits and the magic surrounding them and when an author can do that you know it’s a brilliant story and that it will stay with you.

I cannot wait to read the next book, it was definitely left open and unanswered. 

Would I recommend this book to a friend, absofrickinglutely.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

