The Holler by Harper L Jameson

image

It’s been nearly 200 years since the ice storm that almost destroyed McAllen. Sheriff Jessica Attwood was born there, in a little valley in the Ohio Appalachians known as Wright’s Holler. If she isn’t careful, she’ll die there.
McAllen has a morgue full of bodies, a file of missing persons dating back decades and a sheriff that is determined to find out what is happening to her town. Her investigation leads her to the half-breed mountain man, Misignwa, and her reality is thrown into a chaos that only makes sense when she’s in his arms.
The Misignwa has stayed out of it. His job is to protect the forests of his ancestors, enduring the scorn of a population almost completely unchanged by progress. The problems of the white men aren’t his concern. Not until they come into his woods and duty brings him face to face with the local sheriff, a woman he’s watched from the shadows for years, drawn to in a way he can’t explain.
Jessica’s investigation pulls her deeper into Wright’s Holler, to a world of lost magic and small town legends–legends that tell of spirits roaming the woods, of lost witches and a battle between good and evil that has raged for centuries. As her fascination with Misignwa grows, something is calling her into the forest, into his arms and onto the front lines.
Wild animal, crazed woodsman… Jessica’s guesses about the killer’s identity are as thick as the trees but as the line between the worlds starts to blur, the superstitious townsfolk voice another theory from a time when magic wasn’t just for fairy tales. Something’s stalking the witches of the holler. And it wants Jessica.

4.5 stars ****

I feel like a broken record when I say this, however, I’m gonna say it again and that is that I’m always surprised when sequels live up to their predecessors, obviously in this case I mean The Spirit: A novel of the Tribe.

There are a lot of things wrapped up in this and a lot of ah moments that are tidied up from the first book. It’s funny because I had thought it would continue on from where it left off in the first, again however, I was surprised that it didn’t and we’re now in an era of 200 years later.

The book has the same feel as the first even though times have changed in Wrights Holler. The writing still feels traditional whilst being modern and I love that. I love the whole spiritual element in this whole series. It’s something I haven’t given much thought to before as a reader, it certainly hasn’t been a book I thought I’d enjoy in the past but I have to say that I can’t get enough.

I love the characters and their way of speaking, especially the ‘original’ residents of Wrights Holler. I loved both Misignwa and Matchetechew. They both had the alpha thing down pat. Jess was a great lead female and very independent. The secondary characters were written really well that the ‘villains’ I absolutely hated and the ‘heroes’ I absolutely adored.

I really have to commend authors that can make me feel and take me into their stories. This series has really done that for me. I enjoyed them so much and they are the type of stories that will stay with me.

I would definitely read more. Brilliant.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

