Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram


I don’t know what I was really thinking when I downloaded Cinder & Ella. To be fair I really liked the cover, it’s quite pretty and I’m a sucker for pretty. Plus I’ve been reading a lot of dark contemporary and needed a little relief from that. I’m really happy to say that I’m glad I did download it. 

Cinder and Ella are internet buddies, Ella has a blog that she posts reviews and discusses books and films on. Cinder happened to stumble on her blog and so began their friendship. They both love each other but unable to tell each other, they remain best friends.

On her 18th birthday, her mum arranges a skiing trip for them both. On the drive to the resort, they have an accident and her mum sadly doesn’t make it. The crash leaves Ella with a disability and 80% of her body covered in stars. Having been in a coma for a few months and then going through rehabilitation, an attempted suicide, she understandably isn’t able to keep up with her blog and friends including Cinder.

Cinder, believing Ella dead and unable to find out what happened to her, (he has no phone number, no address and doesn’t even know her real name) he tries to move on with his life.

When Ella moves in with her estranged father, that left her mother and her when she was 8, she has to also move in with his wife and adopted daughters. Things are not good for Ella, she feels like an outsider and believes that she’s hideous. Her stepsisters don’t like her and her stepmother treats her like she’s going to splinter. The kids at school treat her like a pariah and then her therapist says that until she starts living again and interacting with others, there will always be someone watching her. She reaches out to Cinder and is pleased when he gets back in contact. Things start to look up and she starts living again. 

Except Cinder is holding back a secret. They both haven’t told each other their real names. Cinders secret is huge and one he believes will cost him their friendship. 

Anyway things happen, wires are crossed, lives are hurt and drama ensues. The question on everyone’s lips? Will they have their own fairytale ending? You will have to read the book. 

I really like the very real issues raised, it’s believable that anyone that has suffered extreme trauma like that which Ella had, that they’d feel ugly and express self loathing.

This book frustrated me so much, I’m a little impatient in that I want things to work out and then I curse myself for finishing the book fast. I really did enjoy this although it is very much YA.

I would highly recommend for a sweet little book. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

