Grey Magic by JT Lawrence


I was recommended this book by my book club #TBCONFB. 

I had never read anything by this author before but I saw the cover photo and thought, although simple, it was intriguing. Plus the name and blurb and let’s face it, who doesn’t like a little bit of magic? Oh that’s right, you pitchfork wielding Puritans. Or so it goes in the story. 

So Raven Kane is a practicing witch in South Africa, she lives in her run down, close to collapsing, house with her menagerie of animals and her garden full of herbs and all things witchy.

When we are introduced to Raven she is laying in an ice bath trying to cool down from a searing heat and a blistered body. 

Experiencing energy loss, trying to finish a book she started writing 15 years ago and trying to earn a living whilst helping others, she is nearly burnt out. Also on the verge of losing the house she loves and her beloved animals, she’s stunned when she receives 8 million Rand from a client that’s passed away. After paying her debts off and finally thinking things are better, she answers her front door. And finds Captain Krueger of the South African Police Department who tells her she’s under suspicion of murder for the client that passed away. She’s then accused by neighbours, acquaintances and strangers of being a devil worshiping murderer.

As you can imagine, all manner of things happen, running away, breaking and entering, self defence, magic and a while chaos of things ensue. 

Raven realises everything is happening for a reason and must find the part and reason it all began. Can she do it before she burns herself out or before the pitchfork gang burn her at the stake? 

If I’m being totally honest, I didn’t love it. I did really like the story, the plot was great and the eccentric characters did make me laugh.

 What I didn’t love was the way it was written. It was written in the third person present and I really just couldn’t get a feel for the story due to this. I’m so used to reading either the first or third person that it detracted from the story, for me anyway, I’m sure many other readers love reading in this style. However I’m not one of them so this is my issue and not the author but that’s the reason it didn’t fully work for me.

Great plot and great characters though.

Worth a read and I would definitely recommend it. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

2 thoughts on “Grey Magic by JT Lawrence

Leave a Reply

