Broken & Burned by AJ Downey


4 stars ****

This being the second in the series, there was some pressure to live up to the first. I’ve got to say I think it was on par. Not better, not worse. 

So in this book, we have Dray, who is VP of The Sacred Hearts MC and Everett. 

Everett has a tough time throughout the book. She struggles with juggling work and school, her boyfriend is a bum and a layabout, doesn’t help with the rent and bills and expects Everett to be at his beck and call.

After calling her boyfriend and getting his voicemail, she is literally stranded, that is, until Dray pulls up and offers her a lift. After taking him up on it, she is driven to her apartment only to find the reason that her bf didn’t pick her up was because he was balls deep in another woman. Cue a chivalrous Dray and a broken nosed boyfriend. 

Dray let’s Everett stay at his place, playing the hero. But is he really playing or is he falling in love? 

What I liked about this book was that again the main story is based on real issues, I mean I have no idea what goes on in an MC, however I do know that in an everyday life, people get cheated on, abuse happens etc. I like the fact that the author touches upon these. And tastefully. 

I can’t say that Dray really did it for me, he’s a bit too meh for my personal tastes. I did like the way he was very protecting of Everett or Em as Dray calls her. I liked the fact that even though he didn’t know this girl from Adam, his basic instinct told him to protect. Instead of leaving this woman to deal with her problems he took them on himself even through dealing with his own demons. And then both of them finding love together.

The character for me though that really sells the story to me isn’t even the two main characters, it’s the Prezand Dray’s dad, Dragon. I love this man. Who can resist a silver fox? Not me that’s for sure. 

I’m definitely continuing the series, I’m going to dive straight into the next one. 

Happy Reading 🙂

If you want to buy Broken & Burned you can find it here,

Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.com

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

