Priest by Sierra Simone


4 stars ****

I saw this book come up as a recommendation on Facebook but didn’t really pay it much attention until, in a group, they were raving about it. So not wanting to miss an opportunity, I bought it. 

At first I was very reticent to read, the whole religious aspect seemed to strike a chord even though I’m not religious. I know a little about the Catholic Church but not near enough to be an expert. After a little deliberation I decided to give it a go and I’m so glad I did.

There is reference to abuse and there are sensitive issues involving some desecration of sacred articles in the church. However this was dealt with sensitively and tastefully. 

I was really surprised to find I enjoyed it. Yes as explained there were disturbing issues but for me they didn’t detract from the story they made it whole. In my opinion this was just a story of love. 

But it is a taboo love, between a Priest and girl. Priests are not meant to love anyone or thing other than God, the church and their flock. 

Father Tyler Bell is the Priest of his church, trying to build up the reputation of the Catholic Church after a his sister committed suicide after it was found that the priest in his hometown was abusing her and many other children. He believes he can protect his sisters memory and serve others by being in service to God.

So far he is successful, gaining the trust of the townsfolk and building bridges and faith. That is until the beautiful Poppy Danforth waltzes into town confessing her sins. From the moment he hears her voice at confessional, he knows she will be his downfall. 

As the book moves further along, Father Bell realises he loves Poppy but also his flock, his God and his way of life. He feels he must choose but he cannot lose either. How do you keep your faith when you feel like you are constantly sinning? 

For me this book wasn’t about religion, it wasn’t about sinning and it wasn’t about a choice. It was about having faith, it was about love, regardless of the circumstance. Religion played a part but it didn’t define it for me. Father Bell in my opinion shouldn’t need to make a choice. Maybe that’s because I don’t believe in God and I’m not religious, especially not in the way this is described. 

The sex at times felt like punishment but consensual punishment and was tastefully done, that being said some may struggle with it. But it wasn’t just punishment, the undercurrent was hot love, sweet love and forever love. 

I really enjoyed it and although their relationship may be wrong in some people’s eyes but I don’t see the issue, maybe that’s because I’m not religious, I don’t know. All I know is I found it to be an enjoyable read. 

It’s definitely a book that will raise hairs and it’s definitely a book that will stay with me.

Happy Reading 😊

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

2 thoughts on “Priest by Sierra Simone

Leave a Reply

