Wrecking Ball – P. Dangelico

5 absolutely fabulous stars *****

This is my first time reading anything by this author but I can guarantee it most definitely won’t be my last.

After requesting and being accepted to read Wrecking Ball on NetGalley, I was super excited to get stuck in, I mean the cover is sexy as hell and the blurb kinda sealed the deal. 

Wrecking Ball is adult contemporary romance and as such has some explicit scenes and language, basically right up my alley. 

Cam DeSantis hasn’t had the best few years, her husband died in a car accident around four years ago. Not only that but  she finds out upon his death that he was embezzling millions of dollars worth of his clients money and to rub salt in the wound she is implicated.

After using all her parents savings and money she had to clear her name. After three long years she is finally cleared of all charges. But people don’t forget or forgive easily and she has a tough time adjusting. Especially as the case was made public. She literally has nothing to her name and is in dire need of a job after losing her teaching job after the implications. She joins an agency and is given an interview for a live in nanny/teacher position to an 8 year old boy named Sam. The house in question though belongs to the brooding and scowling starting quarterback for the vaunted NY Titans. 

First impressions count though and whilst Sam takes to Cam pretty much straight away, his uncle Calvin wants nothing to do with her and in an outburst calls her a horrible name, overhearing this she walks out of the interview. 

She gets a job working with her friend at a bar and soon forgets all about Calvin but unfortunately not his hurtful words. That is until he turns up at the bar apologetic and stating he needs her. But as you can imagine Cam doesn’t sway too easily until she sees that he’s desperate. As someone who cannot stand to see anyone in need, she finally relents on the basis that he pay her upfront, that way if he’s horrible or derogatory again she’s out of there. 

The inevitable happens and she finds out too late that she’s fallen for the gorgeous quarterback and his adorable nephew. 

But it’s not as easy as just falling in love and they want and need different things. It becomes clear why but I don’t want to give away major spoilers. However I can tell you how this book made me feel.

I did NOT want to put the book down…..From start to finish I wanted to devour the whole bloody lot. I’m left reeling and deflated, but in a good way. I’m deflated because I want more. 

I loved Cal and Cams banter, arguments and sparring matches. I also loved their chemistry, the tension and the ‘will they, won’t they’ vibe.

I am totally going to rave about this book wherever and to whoever I can. I laughed, I wanted to cry. It was a fun read and I cannot wait to read more by this author.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

4 thoughts on “Wrecking Ball – P. Dangelico

Leave a Reply

