Bet on us – Rachel Higginson


I feel like I’m a broken record when I say that I keep seeing these recommendations on social media, but it’s true and it’s a great platform for the avid reader to find some great books. I mean there are so many authors nowadays that use social media to spread their books far and wide. Anyway the point I’m trying to make is that I found this book whilst scrolling through Facebook. There was a lot of hype surrounding it so it intrigued me enough to download.

The title Bet On Us doesn’t seem to go with the plot. I don’t know why because there is the element of gambling in the story. The whole reason Fin Hunter and Ellie Harris “meet” is through Ellie ‘unknowingly’ losing seven grand in an online poker game that Fin just so happens to own. So why I feel this way about the title is beyond me, but there you have it. To me it doesn’t relate.

When I started this book I wasn’t convinced I was going to enjoy it, don’t get me wrong, the blurb pulled me in but by the third chapter, not so much. It had a very young feel to it which normally doesn’t bother me, I do read some YA, however the first few chapters felt childish and unbelievable. I wasn’t sure at this point that I wanted to continue, but I hate not finishing a book I’ve started and so I continued…..and I’m pleasantly surprised to find I actually really enjoyed it.

Once I’d got over the attitude of Fin and the naivety of Ellie, I really liked it. It’s still very much YA and the sex is tame in comparison to what I normally read, but then this isn’t erotica and I’m glad. It wouldn’t have gone with the story in my opinion. 

Going back to the characters, as I said Fins attitude really grated on me at first, the Jekyll and Hyde routine got on my nerves. One minute happy, the next, full of rage and directed at Ellie. There wasn’t any violence, no abuse, just his attitude. Ellie was the kind of girl you love to hate. Her personality reads like every down and out – but not really due to the rich parents – college student, wants her own independence, feels suffocated by family, yada, yada, yada. I wanted to punch her. 

However the story progressed and blossomed and became a story of love and that one person that just gets you. Once that feeling hit me, I was hooked. Towards the end I loved the characters. 

I’d most definitely recommend this book and I’ll definitely keep an eye out for other works by this author. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

