Vicious by L.J Shen


Very brilliant 5 stars *****

I. Loved. This. Book!!!! From start to finish, I was enthralled. 

The hype surrounding this book has been phenomenal. I’ve read other books by this author but JEEZ…..this is my favourite. 

It’s very rare that a book ticks all my boxes but this really does. It has everything I could possibly want and need. I mean let’s see, there’s….

  • angst – check
  • hot fella – check
  • cracking one liners – check
  • feisty females – check
  • fire burning sex – absolutely check

This book was all kinds of awesome for me. 

Vicious, although an arsehole, is the type of guy you are instantly attracted to. 

‘Did I sometimes use physical violence to get what I wanted? Yes. Did it make me a bad person? Probably. Did I care? Not even one bit.’ – Vicious

I often ask myself why I’m attracted to these types of characters and all I can tell you is that these authors do a bang up job of describing them in the written word, that you just can’t help but fall for them. 

I suppose the nail in the coffin on a bad guy is that, yes they’re bastards but underneath they have this vulnerability, this soft side, even when they don’t think it of themselves. That’s what attracts me and draws me in. Well that and their hot bodies, we all want that….! 

Vicious has cause to be rebellious. To want anarchy and destruction. To right a wrong and until the story progresses you don’t really understand why, so although you know he’s hiding something he’s still just an arrogant arse. 

‘Money is like pussy, sweetheart. You can’t ever get enough!’ – Vicious

It’s quite clear that Vicious’ attitude towards Millie is because subconsciously, he’s in love with her and has been since they were young. He just doesn’t realise this. And so ensues years of shitty attitudes and sexual tension. Vicious hates Millie and she feel the same, until she starts working at his firm, in close proximity to the man himself. 

I loved Millie’s character, she was tough and feisty and all the things needed to match Vicious. Even though underneath the things he was throwing at her, hurt, she still loved him. 

Their chemistry was electric, like lightening in a storm. Just breathtaking.

I really hope the author proceeds with a series because I for one totally want more! Even if it’s different characters. There are a lot of them that could have their own story. Shen has proven to me that they are an author to watch out for and I shall be awaiting other books with bated breath. 

Totally worth 5 stars. Check it out. You most definitely will NOT be disappointed.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

4 thoughts on “Vicious by L.J Shen

Leave a Reply

