Retreat by Jay Crownover 


3.5 stars ***

I was super excited to read this book, it was a ‘secret’ book that Jay published late December of last year and there was a lot of hype surrounding it after the ‘secret -aka Retreat‘was revealed. 

I have read and loved everything Crownover before this so was expecting this to be a shoo-in for another love fest of all things Jay! Sadly I didn’t love it as much as her other series or books.

Yes I know she explained that this was nothing at all like her other work and whilst that’s true, it’s still very much Jay, but I don’t know, I just didn’t take to it like I have her others.

Okay, so Retreat tells the story of city girl Leo and her best friend Emrys making their way to the back country to spend a week on a ‘retreat’ after, unbeknownst to Leo, her ex was married the whole time of their relationship. When they get to the ranch that is hosting their week away she is greeted by the three Warner brothers, Lane, Sutton and Cyrus. 

After butting heads with Cyrus at first they realise their chemistry after spending a few days together whilst horse trekking through the mountains. 

But all is not as it seems and when a couple of ‘incidents’ occur, they are tested in ways they never thought imaginable. 

Knowing this was a Crownover book, I really held high expectations and while it was well written, the story was plausible and had all the usual elements I like, I didn’t fall in love with it like I normally would.

Cyrus though, he was hot and I really did like his character. I didn’t like Leo all that much and couldn’t take to her so maybe that put me off. 

I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it. I’m very much still a Crownover fan and I will continue the series just because it’s her and she’s one of my fave authors.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

