Judas – Roy Bright


5 brilliant and sparkly stars *****

Firstly I want to start this review by saying that I think Roy may just be either the embodiment of Jesus Christ himself, holy and saint-like or he’s Judas Iscariot and this is his story he’s telling. In either case, I bloody loved it. I’ll apologise now because I’m probably going to say I loved this book more than once in this review!

I really am in love with this book (ha, see another one already) and it’s not even got romance or sex in it which is usually a must for me. I wanted something different and boy did I get it….!!

Judas is the story of Judas Iscariot, the man who ‘supposedly’ betrayed Jesus by turning him in to the Sanhedrin. This book is set 2000 years after the fact and Judas is still walking the earth believing he is cursed for his betrayal. His punishment being to live for eternity never feeling love or be loved by anyone, even children, he also cannot gain wealth nor use it. He also cannot die and any injury he sustains, he regenerates. The point to his curse, to walk alone for all eternity. This is his penanace.

Whilst homeless and living in a back alley, a stranger comes to him with a message from the Almighty himself, he is to protect a seven year old girl called Charlotte, who it is prophesised will save humanity from the Devil himself, Lucifer. 

Along the way they pick up two extras, one Detective Gary Cross and a hooker named Abi Colter, who are also prohesised to protect Charlotte and fight in the final battle. 

As is inevitable, they are tested in every way imaginable and by all manner of demonic forces sent by the devil. Will they save Charlotte and mankind? Well folks, you’ll just have to buy the book and find out.

I cannot express how in love with this book I am, I really loved the whole ‘apocalyptic/devils gonna reign down and bring hell on earth’ vibe. I feel like if this were real then the whole Judas betraying Jesus thing would have been resolved like this. This explanation would certainly appeal to me and appease me. 

There’s this section in the book that i loved, I’m not religious in any way but this section really stood out to me, it goes like this; Judas and Gary are having a conversation about why God supposedly ‘lets’ things happen to mankind.

        ‘If God interfered, answered people’s prayers, kid-gloved the entire planet, then you would have nothing to be fearful of, just as you wouldn’t if you knew you were going to live forever. If someone wanted a terminally ill loved one to keep on living, they would ask Him and BAM! So it would be! If they wanted to win the lottery, they would ask him and WALLOP! They would become rich. There would be no responsibility for people’s own lives; everything would be handed to human kind on a plate. That is not what He wants for you, for us. He made us to be His greatest creation, which is why He has given us something that few other creatures that He created has: choice, free will.’

Now I apologise for the spoiler but this really jumped out at me and I adored it. It’s a cracking explanation for those that believe who feel their prayers go unanswered.

I kind of fell in love with Judas, the characters were all written superbly and with so much humour and wit, they had me laughing so hard. 

The only tiny criticism I could give this book is that it’s written in third person present. I hate this style of writing and in all honesty I struggle to read it sometimes. But the story here was enough that after a while I totally forgot I was reading in this style. 

I wish there were a rewind button on your brain and I could relive it all over again. I urge anyone who thinks this book is out of their comfort zone to give it a go. I’m so glad I did. It’s totally worth more than 5 stars. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

