Canvas of the Heart – Melissa Taggart


3.5 stars 

Canvas Of The Heart tells the story of Lindsey who suffers from cerebral palsy and uses a wheelchair for mobility. It is about one woman’s determination not to let her disability define her and to lead as much an independent life as possible in all aspects, whether it be daily issues or relationships.

When her best friend Becky brings around her boyfriend at the time Jason to meet her, she knows this man will be a constant in her life. After a year or so things go downhill for the pair and inevitably Becky and Jason split, which also causes a rift between Becky and Lindsey, with Becky eventually upping sticks and losing all contact with Lindsey. Jason also leaves to pursue his career as a nurse and Lindsay feels left behind.

Until Jason re-enters her life and they fall madly in love. And so pursues the struggles and happiness of a relationship.

I’ve got to be honest, I didn’t love this story. I thought it was a pleasant read though and I enjoyed that the author had a go at writing about the struggles of living with a disability. I love it when authors use very real issues. 

One thing that actually gobasmacked me (because I love smut) is that there was too much sex going on. Now I’m all for sexy scenes, I like detail and I am certainly no prude, however it was in every chapter nearly after Lindsey and Jason got together. I know it’s called the honeymoon period but for me there really didn’t need to be so much. 

I really did like this book but again I didn’t love it. It’s a sweet romance but for me it didn’t have that oomph that I look for. 

Happy Reading ✌🏼

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

