Release: Defy by L.J. Shen

Title: Defy
Series: Sinners of Saints #0.5
Author: L.J Shen
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 3, 2017

 

My name is Melody Greene, and I have a confession to make.

 

I slept with my student, a senior in high school.

 

Multiple times.

 

I had multiple orgasms.
In multiple positions.
I slept with my student and I enjoyed it.
I slept with my student and I’d do it all over again if I could turn back time.
My name is Melody Greene, and I got kicked out of my position as a teacher and did my walk of shame a la Cersei Lannister from the principal’s office, minutes after said principal threatened to call the cops on me.
My name is Melody Greene, and I did something bad because it made me feel good.
Here is why it was totally worth it. 

Defy is a smutty, insta-love, insta-lust short novella. Defy is a prequel to Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1). It is recommended, but unnecessary, to read Defy before reading Vicious.

L.J. Shen resides in sunny California with her husband, son, chubby cat and wild, wild dreams.

Her passion is to write badass stories, sushi, UFC and her awesome family and friends (not in this order, though. Obviously, sushi comes before writing. Oh, and also the family part.)


She spend the first half of her twenties traveling the world and is now paying all the fun with extra shifts in front of her MacBook. Feel free to contact her on her Facebook page. She loves to hear from her readers.

 bright-blue_review
I received Defy with thanks to Enticing Journey Promotions and the author.
Okay Defy is Jaime and Melody’s story. Jaime if you remember from Vicious is best friend and makes up one-quarter of the fearsome foursome, the HotHoles. Melody is the teacher referenced in Vicious as Jaime’s love interest.
Defy is set in the school years and continues that way until near the end.
Melody hates being a teacher. She hates everything to do with teaching. She used to dance and studied at Julliard until an accident put paid to that. Her parents, being teachers themselves encouraged her to follow in their footsteps after she was no longer able to dance. Melody hates teaching, except when she’s teaching Jaime Followhill.
After backing her car into Jaime’s car, as you can guess chemistry and attraction ensue. They start a secret relationship, one that is as taboo as can be. Thanks to the first book Vicious, we know they end up together, but its their journey that is intriguing.
Their chemistry is on point. They have such a hot relationship but it’s also sweet. Its angsty but nowhere near tempestuous like Vicious and Millie’s was in the previous book. What Jaime and Melody have is a slow burning love. Jaime is definitely alpha though and definitely hot.
I feel like im comparing Vicious to Jaime and whilst I know i shouldnt do that it’s really hard not to. Don’t get me wrong Defy isn’t in any way wishy-washy but I think for me because Vicious blew me out of the water and floored me, Defy had to live up to that, if not more so and that didn’t happen for me. However i still really enjoyed it and rate it 4.5 stars.
Bring on the next book in the series, can’t wait.


HOSTED BY:

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

2 thoughts on “Release: Defy by L.J. Shen

Leave a Reply

