Jayce Ventura: Ghost Detective by Serena Akeroyd


What a great quirky book. I have to say, I don’t think I’ve read a book like this before. Its very refreshing.

Jason ‘Jayce’ Ventura (yes Jason is not a typo, her parents really called her that) is a ghost detective. She has around 15 to 20 ghosts at any one time attached to her and as her title suggests, shes a detective, helping ghosts ‘move on.’

In walks Drake, Drake is still grieving the death of his 17 year old nephew David, who he loved dearly and was very close to. The circumstances surrounding David’s death are suspicious and wanting to get to the bottom of it he hires Jayce to find out why.

Cue what i can only describe as a laugh out loud, serious but engaging read and one that I enjoyed immensely. 

Jayce has just got that attitude you can’t help but connect with, she’s feisty, spunky and knows herself. She’s independent and likes to be that way, well until Drake. Working together stirs feelings between the both of them, whilst helping Drakes nephew, they bond. Drake is not alpha but he’s the kind of guy you know you could instantly fall in love with. He’s sensitive but still manly. 

But it’s not all about the love, it’s the ghosts too and while Jayce us all these beings around her all the time, she never lets it break her, she’s resilient and the heroine. She helps all these ghosts and yes it tires her, but she has this urge to do right by them. Her ghost best friend Kenna is so spunky and has a sarcasm that’s unmatched. I loved her. David being the ‘victim’ plays his role well, he’s a typical dead seventeen year old…horny and cheeky. 


I don’t want to give away any of the plot because I hate spoilers so you’re going to have to pick up the book but it’s awesome and I loved it. It’s not a racy read but lately I’m finding that the less racy the better. I’ve had my mind opened up by these different types of books and I’m loving it. 

I would definitely recommend this book, get reading, you never know, it may be your next best read.

Happy Reading 🙂 

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

