Review: This Thing Between Us by Holly C. Webb


Date Published: ARC

Date read: 12/05/17

My rating: 5 stars

This is the second novel by Holly and I have to say that I loved it more than the first and I really did love that.

Parker is a playboy heir to a multimillion dollar company and an all round jackass. He thinks because he has money hes above everyone else. When his father tells him he either settles down and his playboy ways or he loses the opportunity to take over the company when he retires, he can think of only one thing to do … ask a random stranger to marry him.

Alice is a waitress working all the hours she can so that she can ensure her grandmother remains in the private nursing home. When the manager tells her that her grandmothers care has turned terminal and will cost $30,000 dollars to remain in their care, she doesnt know what to do. So when Parker offers her this deal, she takes it. 

Naturally as time progresses and incidents are dealt with, they find themselves falling in love.  But can there be a trusting relationship that was essentially built on lies. 

Well can there?

Well people, you’re just going to have to preorder and read the book. No spoilers from me, no siree.

I loved Parker, even arsehole Parker. There was something likeable and something that drew you in from the off. Even as I say, him being an arsehole. I love alpha guys like these who have redeemable qualities. I’m going to be honest and say I wasn’t keen on Alice. I thought she was quite a sap, too quick to judge and too distrusting. I understand why and it will be explained as you read but she really grated on me

Parker and Alice together though. Instant chemistry. The tension building was just right, not too long. I hate when books go on and on. 

This Thing Between Us is a sweet read. I enjoyed it immensely and I look forward to more to come from this author. 

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

