Review: Winning Ace by Tracie Delaney


My thanks go to the author for the ARC of this book.

My rating: 5 stars

You know those books that stay with you, that you think of long after you’ve read them because they were that good they refuse to leave you? Well this book is one of them.

This is Tracie Delaney’s debut novel and is the first in an overarching trilogy and if this is anything to go by then the rest are going to be awesome.

Okay, so in Winning Ace we see Cash Gallagher, a tennis ace and all round bad boy whose attitude is he’s basically king dick. He also hates reporters with a passion and tries to steer clear as much as possible, only letting them in to his career side of things. 


Natalia ‘Tally’ McKenzie is a reporter on the cusp of a career breakout. If only she can get the story. Cue betraying her tennis idol and crush Cash. 

Take one pissed off tennis star, throw in a loved up reporter, shake it up with a bit of scandal and you’ve got yourself a ‘Winning Ace’ of a story. I loved the concept of this story, I myself love sports romances and tennis is my favourite to play, (not professionally – obvs) watch and now read about. 

The heat and chemistry between Cash and Tally is so intense, it gives you the belly flutter and the goose bumps. It’s definitely one of those books that if someone walked past you whilst reading it, you’d stealthily close it just because of the heat intensity. 

The cameraderie and laughter elements are there too, the relationship between Tally and her best friend is what I’d expect a best friend to be. Someone who’s there for you and has a laugh with you and tells you your faults, but in the nicest possible way. 

The only downside really is that as stated it does have an overarching plot and so the story doesn’t get tied up in this book, however, the author has stated that she has set the book to release pretty much simultaneously so hopefully us readers aren’t waiting too long for more Cash and Tally. 

This book and this author has left me wanting more and I cannot wait for the rest of the series to come to fruition.

Happy Reading 🙂

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

2 thoughts on “Review: Winning Ace by Tracie Delaney

Leave a Reply

