Review: Damage Control by Eva King

55a0b-damage2bcontrol_frontcover

My thanks go to the author for the ARC of this book.

I must be honest and say that I hadn’t heard of this author before this book, however I will now.

Damage Control is a second chance and all round sweet contemporary romance. It has all the elements to make it a sweet read. You have your smoking hot hero and your bumbling but feisty when it counts lead female and you have the background characters to fill it all in. The plot isn’t original really, however it is genuine and I adore books that make you feel happy and this did just that.

James and Emma were childhood best friends, only James had a little crush on Emma. However, Emma, not seeing James as anything but a friend, goes out with the school’s resident playboy and all round douche. It isn’t until an incident occurs that Emma sees James in a different light. They kiss but are interrupted by James father who lets it slip that they are moving. Feeling heartbroken Emma goes home, the next day though James has gone.

Fast forward 7 years. James is now a Hollywood actor, loved by millions and earning millions. Emma works in her local supermarket, she lives with her friend and they lead a simplistic lifestyle.

Living up to his Hollywood playboy lifestyle leads to an incident in which it makes James stop and think. He remembers his first love and that leads him to go home to Scotland and find Emma. They begin to fall in love but having a relationship that is always in the spotlight is hard and trying. Can love find a way to trump all that? Well kiddies, you’ll have to read the book and find out.

For the first time reading this authors work, I’m really impressed and will definitely read more. The way she tells the story is endearing and makes you want that happy ending. It makes you feel light but it’s not wimpy, there’s elements of hardness. It’s just one of those books that after you’ve read, you smile with contentment.

damage control teaser

Eva King will be one author I look out for in the future.

Happy reading 😊

 

 

 

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

