Review: Henry & Me by Sasha Clinton

Henry & MeHenry & Me by Sasha Clinton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My thanks go to the author for this e-book copy.

When I read the blurb for Henry & Me, I liked the look of it but something was holding me back. I don’t know why because its contemporary romance and pretty much the type I’d usually read. Anyhow it took me a few days to get into starting it BUT I’m so glad I did.

I was not expecting to laugh as much as I did, and I mean not just a tiny laugh, I mean a full-on chuckle. It read like a rom-com and the author has a pretty good way of engaging her audience.
It is a slow starting story, the build-up takes a while to get your head around, however, the laughs and the one-liners more than make up for the pace of the book.

It isn’t a perfect 5-star book for me and if I have to give any criticism, it would be that the main characters ‘issues’ seemed kind of, brushed aside. I mean they were there and relevant to the story BUT I personally felt that for what she had been through she didn’t take it seriously enough. At times her attitude was flimsy, like, until certain triggers happened, they seemed kind of irrelevant.
I have to say though that Max’s one-liners and attitude (not including the above) were totally on point, I urge you not to laugh. I loved her character.
Henry? Well Henry took a little for me to get, he was kind of stiff in the beginning. I think his naturally shy and laid back attitude is to blame. He’s not the typical alpha guy, he doesn’t have the bulging biceps or the aggressive attitude BUT he does have the caring and sensitive down pat. You cant help find him endearing after a while.

I think this book is going to be one of those you either love or hate. I’ll very much be in the love category.

View all my reviews

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

