Review: Resisting Redemption by Amabel Daniels

Oh I cannot believe how much I thoroughly enjoyed this book. When I first started reading it, I wasn't sure I was going to like it but after the first chapter, I was hooked.

The author gave the characters such wit and intelligence, it was hard not to laugh out loud. It's one of those rare 'unputdownable' books.

I loved Roxie's character. As a single parent she's had it tough but she's got this independent quality that you couldn't help but admire. Grant's character was one of those you love from the outset. The story tries to depict him as this harsh, always into his work, unfeeling man, but right off the bat you know there's something deeper going on. I mean it's hard to believe a person would portray someone into being something they're not without reason and if you read the book you'll realise why.

I can't get over the camaraderie and the ease in which the characters gel. The whole book reads like a drama, a suspenseful crime drama, a bit like Ally McBeal actually but with less courtrooms. (Anyone remember Ally McBeal?) Well it was like that, only better. Resisting Redemption is like a spoof of a crime drama BUT intellectual, you could tell the author had spent her time researching and coming up with these plot twists. The character who was being accused of murder hires Grant as his lawyer and its Grant's – and now Roxie's – job to find the real killer. There were twists and turns throughout and it really left me guessing until the very end. There's going to be one smart alec of a person that goes 'oh I knew who the killer was from the beginning.' And I'm going to be like 'HOW DUDE? HOW? (hate those people) My point being that I DIDN'T catch on to the killer and I really liked that I didn't because at the end I was like Noooooooo!! Shut the front door!! Haha!

Anyway, I think I've rambled enough. Actually I will just say that, for fans on contemporary romance, for fans of 'whodunnits' and fans of really great written books, I urge you to pick up this one. You will NOT be disappointed. I will most definitely look out for this author in future.

Author:

I love books. Books soothe me. Books are my escape from the day-to-day mundane. I'm very rarely without a book and my tbr pile is ever growing. I'm a single mother of twin boys and I live in Lincolnshire.

Leave a Reply

